Thierry Henry Home
Add to your favorites
Subscribe to Thierry's Feed

       WALLPAPERS   |   BIO   |   GALLERY   |   VIDEOS   |   LINK TO ME
 

Wednesday, June 28, 2006

"I'm not a cheater"

Share |

Before the important derby between France and Brazil, many words in the newspapers suggested that Henry faked a foul in the game with Spain. Thierry Henry says he didn't cheat to win the free-kick which led to his side's second goal in their 3-1 World Cup victory over Spain.

We must remember that the striker fell to the pitch and clutched his face after he collided with Carles Puyol and Puyol claimed the referee had made the wrong decision, saying: "If anything it was a foul by Henry."

But Henry, defending himself against the allegation, expressed: "Spain's left-back Mariano PernĂ­a was going to win the ball so I don't know why Puyol cut across me, but he did. I don't cheat."

What's more, coach Luis Aragones agreed with Carles Puyol, saying that the clash with Thierry Henry didn't deserve a free-kick: "For me the referee (Italian Roberto Rosetti) blew for a non-existent foul for the second goal," he said.